Live Pterosaurs in Television Shows

Richard Syrett interviewed me, Jonathan Whitcomb, in Long Beach, on May 5, 2012, for a Canadian television talk show. The previous day, Syrett interviewed my associate, cryptozoologist Garth Guessman. We found his questions reasonable and his approach refreshingly open.

Richard Syrett interviewed Jonathan Whitcomb for Canadian television show

I was informed by Syrett and his producer that the Canadian television show would be only thirty minutes long, including commercials. Realizing several cryptozoologists had been interviewed, I concluded that only a little of my own interview would be broadcast.

I briefly described my interview with Gideon Koro, the young man who, as a teenager with six of his friends, had been terrified at the giant ropen (an apparent pterosaurthat flew over Lake Pung, Umboi Island, around 1994.

Gideon described, in 2004, the giant ropen that had flown over Lake Pung

About the huge ropen, Gideon told the American cryptozoologist Jonathan Whitcomb, “It came down” (it flew over the crater lake on Umboi Island).

There was no time to get into the philosophical aspects of creation-versus-evolution. I did mention my belief in the historical Flood of Genesis in the Bible. Most of my questions and answers related to cryptozoology: the living-pterosaur interpretation of sightings.

The openess of the 2012 interviews were in stark contrast to the closed position of the Canadian television show “MonsterQuest,” which was broadcast in its “Demon Flyer” episode a few years ago.

Clear Thinking and “Pterodactyls on Television”

Jonathan Whitcomb was interviewed by the Canadian talk show host Richard Syrett. Some of the interview will be on television in Canada. . . . This Australian [Brian Hennessy] has made it clear that the creature that he saw flying over Bougainville Island in 1971 is very much unlike any known bird or bat.

Interview for Television

Whitcomb mentioned [pterosaur] sightings by Gideon Koro, Evelyn Cheesman, and Duane Hodgkinson. The answers to Syrett’s questions, however, were brief, for the final television show will be only 30 minutes long.

Advertisement:

Live Pterosaurs in America - third edition - by Jonathan Whitcomb

From an Amazon book review for an earlier edition of this nonfiction cryptozoology book about modern pterosaurs: Live Pterosaurs in America:

“This is an updated review of the book and I am changing my rating to 5 stars. This book has been on my shelf for almost a year now. I pick it up every now and then and a part of me becomes more impressed by the book every time. Yes, the skeptics will laugh at it, but I am a skeptic too. . . . it is apparent that these pterosaur stories will not go away.

“. . . Whitcomb painstakingly reviews every account for credibility and reason. This man is not a crank. He tries to weed out would be hoaxes and miss-identification. This is not a guy looking to create evidence to confirm his own beliefs. On top of this, I have great respect for a guy who follows his dreams so passionately. He has traveled to Papua New Guinea to search for the creature there . . .”

